Photography is Not a Crime

Obviously I’m not in the same league as Thomas Hawk, but still I consider myself an amateur photographer who gets the occasional good shot.

Last night I attended the Festival of Friends which is held at Gage Park which is owned by the City of Hamilton. While waiting for Steve Earl to take the stage I decided to take some pictures of the surrounding area and take in some of the atmosphere that makes up this public event. Having trained my lens on a particular food stall I noticed that one of the employees was waving their hands wildly in my direction. Lowering the camera I can see him mouthing the words “no pictures!”

I shrugged and moved on without taking the shot and now I’m feeling like I somehow did the wrong thing. This event is on publically owned land and it was an event open to the public and he was in full view from where I was standing so I don’t believe I was on any shaky legal ground.  This wasn’t going to be a pulitzer winning photo but all the same I wonder if I did the right thing.

The reason I bring this up is because of Thomas Hawk’s post about getting kicked out of a museum for taking pictures in a place where patrons are specifically allowed to do so.

This is where I ask, “What would you do in my, or Thomas’ situation?”

2 responses to “Photography is Not a Crime

  1. I probably would still have taken the picture but it would have been annoying if everyone in the picture was waving their hands.

  2. You can get a copy of the photographer’s rights online. Print it and carry it with you.

    You may want to add pictures, for those who can’t read. 😉

Leave a Reply

